Cycling: SRAM NDCXL league latest

Cyclist Sarah Briggs.Cyclist Sarah Briggs.
Cyclist Sarah Briggs.
This week saw the SRAM NDCXL league continue at Shipley Park for Round Four courtesy of Heanor Clarion.

The course was fast and exceptionally dry but with the addition of hurdles for those riders looking for more of a technical challenge.

Last week’s winner Graham Briggs (JTL Condor) once again pushed the pace hard at the start and took the victory with Madison Genesis rider Thomas Stewart 2nd and Nick Barnes (Hargroves RT) 3rd.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Junior Men’s race was won by Josh Waters (Sherwood Pines SRAM), ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Kieren Howarth and Bailey Wilmot (Derby Mercury)

The Women’s race was lit up by early battles between Junior rider Madeleine Gammons (Sherwood Pines SRAM) and Veteran Maddi Smith (Bolsover & District CC), with Gammons taing the win.

Third overall and second vet was Empella’s Tracey Fletcher. First Senior Woman was Wirksworth’s Elisa McDonagh of Team WNT, ahead of second and third seniors Sarah Gell (Drighlington BC) and Fossa Racing’s Sarah Naylor.

In the Veterans race, Zepnat’s Jim Bryan made his intentions clear almost from the start, gapping his rivals early on, and staying away for the whole race to finish 40 seconds ahead of Retrobike’s Geoffrey Beetham.

Bryan’s Zepnat team mate Dan Alexander took third.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Youth races saw even closer fought action, with the Girls U16 being no exception.

Only seconds separated the top three riders for most of the race.

In the end, Fossa Racing’s Ellie Smith pulled away from her chasers, Leicestershire Road Club’s April Tacey and Xan Crees (Derby Mercury), on the last lap to claim victory

The U14 Girls saw early battles between Matlock team mates Sarah Briggs and Amelie Wayte, with Briggs ultimately winning out to take the victory.

Fossa Racing’s Libby Smith took third.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The U14 Boys race was won by Alec Gregory (Leicestershire Road Club), ahead of Emile Alexander (Lichfield City CC) and Clifton CC’s Finlay Pickering.

The U12 Girls saw the win taken by Jessica Tiffney (Derby Mercury), ahead of Matlock CC’s Annabel Parker and Grace Fishleigh (Bolsover & District CC)

In the Boys U12, Christopher Hilbert (Pines Cycles Felt Enve) claimed the winning glory, with Matlock CC’s Sam Gould and Tom Scott (Sheffield Stars) in second and third.

The U9 races saw Jude DuToit (Newark CC) and Redditch’s Lauren Oldfield win the Boys and Girls races respectively.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Sunday saw the ever popular Monsal Head hillclimb held in warm dry conditions with a large crowd cheering a large field of riders ranging from locals to professionals.

The victory was taken by Joe Clark (Bike box Alan / Envelopemaster) in a fast time of 1 minute 20 seconds.

Just 0.2 seconds back was Adam Kenway (Sportgrub Kuota). Matlock CC rider John Johnstone put on a storming ride for 9th just 8 seconds further back.

First lady rider was Lou Bates (Carnac Planet-X) with Olympian Dame Sarah Storey 3rd.

First veteran rider was local Chris Myhill (Peak RC)

Related topics: