Stags boss Evans hoping for a home draw against minnows in FA Cup draw

Mansfield Town boss Steve Evans can't wait to see who the Stags will face in the first round of this season's FA Cup adventure when the first round draw is made tonight (BBC2 & BT Sport, 7pm).

Mansfield Town manager Steve Evans - Pic By James Williamson
Mansfield Town manager Steve Evans - Pic By James Williamson

The 32 winners from last weekend’s fourth qualifying round are joined by 48 teams from the lower two divisions of the EFL in the hat tonight with Mansfield being ball number 26.

“First and foremost I would like a home draw, secondly I want to play the lowest-ranked team in the competition,” he said.

“And that doesn’t mean we’ll beat them as that is the magic of the FA Cup. I have been the lowest ranked team in the fourth round of the FA Cup before.

“Every round of the FA Cup is always special – it is the best cup competition in the world of football.

“It’s when you live the dream. I am very fortunate as a manager of getting to the fifth round twice with a non-League club and then a League club, beating a host of Championship clubs on the way as well as a glorious day at Manchester United when we should have beaten them.

“But that aside, it’s just a magical competition – like Stags playing Liverpool.

“Everyone in the Football League tonight will be watching the FA Cup draw at 7pm.”

Evans added: “If we drew someone like Truro or Dover away it would probably be television for us and be so tough.

“I have been that little non-League club with Crawley that wants a decent Football League club at home.

“I can remember beating Derby County and then being told we’d got Torquay away in the next round and I was sick for two days! Then we beat Torquay and got Manchester United!

“Every Stags fan will remember the game against Liverpool here and the magic that brought to this town.”

First round draw numbers:

1 Accrington Stanley

2 AFC Wimbledon

3 Barnet

4 Blackpool

5 Bolton Wanderers

6 Bradford City

7 Bristol Rovers

8 Bury

9 Cambridge United

10 Carlisle United

11 Charlton Athletic

12 Cheltenham Town

13 Chesterfield

14 Colchester United

15 Coventry City

16 Crawley Town

17 Crewe Alexandra

18 Doncaster Rovers

19 Exeter City

20 Fleetwood Town

21 Gillingham

22 Grimsby Town

23 Hartlepool United

24 Leyton Orient

25 Luton Town

26 Mansfield Town

27 Millwall

28 Milton Keynes Dons

29 Morecambe

30 Newport County

31 Northampton Town

32 Notts County

33 Oldham Athletic

34 Oxford United

35 Peterborough United

36 Plymouth Argyle

37 Port Vale

38 Portsmouth

39 Rochdale

40 Scunthorpe United

41 Sheffield United

42 Shrewsbury Town

43 Southend United

44 Stevenage

45 Swindon Town

46 Walsall

47 Wycombe Wanderers

48 Yeovil Town

49 Southport

50 Alfreton Town or Gateshead

51 Macclesfield Town

52 FC Halifax Town

53 Stockport County

54 Barrow

55 Stourbridge

56 Altrincham

57 Lincoln City or Guiseley

58 Spennymoor Town

59 Wrexham or Stamford

60 York City or Curzon Ashton

61 Whitehawk

62 Westfields

63 Sutton United

64 Chesham United

65 Dagenham & Redbridge

66 Torquay United or Woking

67 Taunton Town or Hemel Hempstead Town

68 Braintree Town

69 Brackley Town

70 Dartford

71 St Albans City

72 Boreham Wood

73 Eastbourne Borough

74 Harrow Borough or Margate

75 Maidstone United

76 Kidderminster Harriers

77 Solihull Moors

78 Dover Athletic

79 Merstham

80 Eastleigh