Sports awards ceremony unveils best in Bolsover

Some of the winners at the 2018 Bolsover District Annual Sports Awards.
Some of the winners at the 2018 Bolsover District Annual Sports Awards.

A host of community and school stars picked up their honours and medals at the annual Bolsover District Annual Sports Awards ceremony, held at Sports Direct in Shirebrook.

Hosted by Bolsover District Council and the Bolsover District School Partnership, the awards celebrated the achievements of top sportspeople, teams, club officials and volunteers across the district in 2018.

The winners included: community volunteer, Lynda Hall; school staff volunteer, Allyson Elliott; disabled school sports leader, Daniel Taylor; secondary school sports leader, Dalton Cooper.

Young sports leader/coach, Declan Fox; primary school sports organising crew, Palterton Primary; community award, South Normanton Colts FC; active schools of year, Morton Primary, Duckmanton Primary, Town End Junior and Palterton Primary; sporting achievement through adversity, Ruby Gunn.

Primary school team of year, Brockley basketball; secondary school team of year, Shirebrook Academy boccia; community team of year, Whitwell CC; community junior team of year, South Normanton Colts FC U14 girls; community club of year, South Normantnon Colts FC; outstanding achievement, U11 girls’ district football team.

Primary sportsman of year, George Cooper; primary sportswoman of year, Nyah Horsley; U14 sportsman of year, Finlay Preece; U14 sportswoman of year, Hannah Moody; U14 disabled sportsperson of year, Lucy Taylor; young sportsman of year, Thomas Parsons; young sportswoman of year, Rebecca Johns.