School stars celebrated for their sporting success

Two Palterton Primary School pupils were honoured last week at the 2015 Derbyshire Schools Sport Awards (DDSA).

Anya Horsley and Fern Clifford were highly commended in the Media and Arts Contribution to School Sport category at the ceremony, held at Chesterfield FC’s Proact Stadium in front of over 200 guests.

The year five pupils were nominated for their work on the Derbyshire School Games Event, where they wrote a report summarising how the day unfolded.

Also highly commended in the Sportsperson of the Year category was athlete Katie Rowe, from Frederick Gent School.

The 16-year-old, who has moved to Ashfield School for her A level studies, won gold in the Under-17s women’s triple jump at the England Indoor Championships in March.

The Derbyshire Institute of Sport athlete followed that up with a bronze medal at the English Schools Championships and was fourth at the UK Sainsbury’s School Games.

Another success came for Clowne’s Heritage High School dancers, who were highly commended for their work in Media and Arts Contribution to School Sport.

The group was selected to perform at county level, put on a display at the Derbyshire School Games and some of their number showcased their skills at last night’s awards.

Winner of the top award, Sportsperson of the Year, was Allestree Woodlands School golfer Bradley Moore, who retained his title from 2014.

Special guest for the night was shot putter Sam Ruddock, who represented Great Britain at the London 2012 Paralympics.


Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Bradley Moore (golf), Allestree Woodlands School.

Primary School Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Grace Longden (cycling), Buxworth Primary School.

Winner: Abbie Wood (swimming), Buxton Community School.

Disability Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Thomas Spicer (table tennis) Littleover Community School.

Primary School Team of the Year

Winners: Loscoe CE Primary School Football Team.

Secondary School Team of the Year

Winners: Tupton Hall School Under-12s Girls Football Team.

Disability Team Award

Winners: Allestree Woodlands School Hearing Impaired Athletics Team.

Primary School Young Leader of the Year

Winner: Mia Lockwood, Grange Primary School.

Adult Volunteer Award

Highly commended: Natalie Mills, Hayfield Primary School; Heather Rhodes, Morley Primary

School; Nia Yule, Brookfield Community School.

Secondary School Young Leader of the Year

Winner: Sam James, Chellaston Academy.

Media and Arts Contribution to School Sport

Highly commended: Heritage High School Dancers; Anya Horsley and Fern Clifford, Palterton

Primary School; Katie Marshall, Brookfield Community School.

Service to School Sport

Winner: Paul Smith (Derbyshire Schools FA).