Ravenshead Rascals win Mansfield and District Table Tennis League

editorial image

Ravenshead Rascals have won the Division One title in the Mansfield and District Table Tennis League after a 9-1 victory over Ravenshead Riots.

The team, captained by Mick Pestka consists of Junior Stoddart (unbeaten), Adam Feargrieve (unbeaten), Martin Dean and Gareth Godber, dominated the league this year winning 10 out of 10 and only losing eight ends on their way.

This is the second time the Rascals have won the title, the last time being the 2011/12 season, and brings an end to the dominance of Zygabytes A.

Zygabyte A have secured second with two 7-3 victories over Jacksdale A this week.

At the bottom Jacksdale C have stopped the rot of 11 straight defeats from the start of the season with a 5-5 draw against Jacksdale B.

In Division Two Zygabyte Old Bats beat New Cross Snipers 7-3 with Rob Vaughan winning player-of–the-match, winning all his game, with Matt Williams for the Old Bats and Ben Swain for the Snipers winning two.

This result means Old Bats can only be caught by the Rhinos, who are 13 points behind with 2 games to play and the last game is against the Old Bats.

Ravenshead Rhinos drew with Boothys Ravens 5-5 with Steve Scott once again winning his 11th player-of-the-match in only 13 games and boasts a 94.87 per cent win record.

Boothy’s completed their fixtures with a hard fought victory over Ravenshead Angels. Four players - Maggie Burrows and Adrian Smith for Angels and Derek Clarke and Stuart Chadwick for Boothy’s - all won two of their matches before Derek and Stuart teamed up to win the doubles and complete a 6-4 victory for their side.

Boothys have now played all their games and cannot win the title. They await the final 2 results next week from the Rhinos who are 12 points behind them to see who will come second.