Pool glory again for county heroes

The victorious Nottinghamshire A pool team.
The victorious Nottinghamshire A pool team.

The all-conquering Nottinghamshire A blackball pool team, based in Mansfield, won the national team title for the third time in four years at the EBPF National Super 7s.

Notts topped their qualifying group and then beat Staffordshire 11-6 in the semi-finals before coming up against the 2018 champions, Yorkshire, in the final.

Captained by Harvey Elmhirst, they got off to a flying start thanks to wins by Jamie Clarke, Matt Coates, Clint I’Anson, Harry Irwin and Kev Seaman, and maintained their form to triumph 11-7. The other members of the team were Jules Goodyear and Graham Cliffe.

Notts also won the Masters title, with their B team storming back from 4-1 down to win 5-4 against their own C team in the final.

Singles titles were won by I’Anson, Kerry Griffiths and Wayne Winnals.