Owen fails to make cut in Honda Classic

AT last week’s Honda Classic in his adopted home state of Florida Greg Owen failed to make the cut by just one stroke after two rounds of one over par 71.

It was a disappointing result for Owen, who last week had claimed a top 16 finish, which led to him speaking of his pleasure at re-discovering his form again.

Coxmoor’s Saturday Medal was won by John Twells with a nett 68, one ahead of James Rutter and Ross Overton, with Overton carding the best scratch score with a round of 66.

Phil Strachan took the top spot in Division Two with a nett 71, followed one adrift by G. Wilkes.

At Rufford Park the Burton Winter Trophy, the club’s first major competition of the year, went to Dennis Hoult with a nett 61, three clear of Derrick Spence who took second after a countback from Stephen Jones.

The scratch prize was shared between Neil Hanson and Liam Taylor, both with rounds of gross 69.

In Sunday’s AM/AM the team of Roy Patterson, Russ Griffiths, Eric Cartwright and Mark Unwin totalled 116 points to win by two from Liam Taylor, James Levy, Terry Radzki and Dave Chapman, with third place going to Phil Barnfather and his team of Steve Swindells, Dave Bennett and Martin Drury in third with 112 points.

In Round 10 of the Winter League John Stoppard took the top spot in Division One with 41 points, winning after a countback from Steve Asher with Dave Rossington in third with 40 points.

Dave Wilson ran away from the field in Division Two, carding 48 points finish five clear of Dennis Hoult and Brett Hallam.

Division Three was won by John Deakin with 45 points with James Sterland taking second after a count back from Lindsey Walkman both with 41 points

Steven Hines won Division One of Oakmere Park’s Sunday Medal on the back nine from Nigel Richardson, both with nett 68, with Iain Williams taking third on the back nine from a group of players, all with nett 71.

In Division Two Glenn Dyer returned a nett 65 by three from Carl Henshaw and Jacob Smith.

Division Three went to Andrew Millar after a three way countback from Jeffrey Brinklow and Neil Gouldby all with nett 69.

During the event Paul Keeton holed in one at the eighth hole.

Round Five of the Sunday Golfer of the Winter Betterball Medal was won by Anthony Bromirski and Chris Walker with a nett 62 on the back nine from Stephan Foster and Alan Foster, with third place going to Jamie Simpson and Ian Hayes also after a countback from Bob Ward and Roy Hardingham both pairs with nett 63.

In the Monday Senior’s Eclectic and Stableford, Mel Bower took the top spot in Division One from Ernie Scott and Colin Wood all with 39 points.

Les May rerturned 41 points to win the Second Division by one from Jim Newton.

Division One for the Thursday Stableford went to Dan Braybrook with 40 points, six clear of runner-up Iain Williams.

Craig Jennings totalled 37 points to win Division Two by one from Craig Pearce with Neil Harvey returning a best of the day 41 points to top the Third Division four better than Andrew Miller.