Oliver Wilson misses cut for Open

Oliver Wilson will have to sit out the Open Championship after he missed the cut in last week’s Barclay’s Scottish Open following rounds of 73 and 69 in the rain-affected event at Castle Stewart.

His Coxmoor club mate, Greg Owen, tees up on his return to Nationwide Tour action in the Chiquita Classic at TPC River’s Bend in Cincinnati today (Thursday).

Coxmoor’s Ladies Gregory Cup was won by Jenny Batty with a nett 65, one better than runner-up Keeley Sweeney with Heidi Sweeney taking third place with a nett 67.

The scratch prize was won by Judy Wheatley with a gross 80.

The Silver Division of the of the Sunday July Medal was won by Rhiannon Linacre with a nett 67 followed by Heidi Sweeney with a nett 73.

In the Bronze Division Lynn Harris took the top spot with a nett 72 followed by Sharon Price on nett 76.

In the Tuesday Medal the Silver Division was won by Jenny Batty after a countback with runner-up Val Barker both with 69.

Sue Walters returned a nett 73 to win the Bronze Division followed by Megan McJannett with a nett 74.

The Summer Meeting Scratch Cup was won by Jane Fowler with a gross 80 with the Handicap Cup going to Mair Gregory on nett 70.

Sue Smith took the runners-up spot with a nett 71, one better than Judy Wheatley.

Rufford Park’s Early Bird Texas Scrample was won by the team of David Staples, Kevin Emery, Tony Stanger and Melvyn Straker with a nett 67 with Phil Ball and his team of Brian Price, Lindsey Walkman and Julian Wilson in second with a nett 58.7.

The Men’s Anniversary Cup was won by Alan Richardson after a countback from Danny Cave, Dale Benner and Rob Shirtcliffe with Dale Benner’s gross 75 winning the scratch prize.

In the Pete Woods Trophy Mike Parkin took first place with a nett 65, one better than Martin Drury with Steve Swindellls taking third after a countback from a group of players with nett 68.

In the the Seniors stableford Vince Donovan carded 43 points to win by one from Nev Sayer with Keith Ware in third with 40 points. Nearest the pin prize went to Walt Sisson.

Terry Quinn, Anthony Brough, Neil Goulby and Richard Hines returned a nett 54.7 to win the The Jackson Texas Scramble Medal at Oakmere Park with second place going to Alan Ward, Malcolm Crossley, Dave Woolis and Mick O’Neill with nett 56.3.

The First Division of The John Heard Betterball Medal went to Alan Seddon and Jack Taylor on the back nine from the pairings of Paul Scott and Paul Williams and Trevor Pearce and Sean Pearce, all three pairs with nett 66.

In Division Two Brian Hammond and Shaun Robinson returned a nett 67 to win by two from John Burch and John Richardson, who took second after a countback from Fred Hall and Keith Hoskins, all with nett 69.

Alan Roberts won the First Division of the July Medal with nett 71, two clear of second-placed Jordan Shepherd.

In the Second Division Gareth Wharmby totalled a nett 72 to win by eight from Matthew Rowbottom.

The top division of Monday’s Senior’s Medal was won by Gerry Bakewell with a nett 68, one better than runner-up Henry Klapowski with Tony Smedley winning the Second Division with a nett 68, five in front of Jim Newton.