Lloyd leads Notts to win over cream of Scotland

County Boys’ captain, Sherwood Forest’s Lloyd Best led the Notts Boys to a win over the Scottish Junior Golf Tour representative team at Coxmoor on Sunday.

The local team also include Lee Sheppard, from Sherwood, Ben Smith (Worksop), Mark Smith, (Rushcliffe), Tom Cumberland and Joe Hague from Coxmoor and Jack Sallis, Isaac Walker and Jacob Walker, all Notts GC.

In the morning Foursomes the visitors took three out of the four matches with only Best and Ben Smith winning for the home team.

But in the afternoon singles the Notts youngsters won 7½ to 1½ with only Ben Cumberland missing out on the scoreboard.

Oliver Wilson had a mixed week in the Trophee Hassan in Morocco last week finishing well down the field in 53rd place after rounds of 71, 72, 69 and 74.

The Coxmoor man’s consistency seems to be his problem at the moment with him getting plenty of birdies and eagles last week, but then undoing all the good work with a mixture of bogeys and worse, including a four over par eight at the fourth in his third round.

He next returns to action in the Volvo China Open later this month.

Malcolm Flinton hit top form to win Saturday’s April Medal at Coxmoor, returning a nett 64, off 12, to win by four from Pearce Whetton, the best of four with nett 68s, with the best scratch score of 72 coming from Jonathan Parker.

Shaun Walker won the Second Division with a nett 70, two better than Eddie Carlisle and Peter Palmer.

Rufford Park’s Seniors’ Winter Eclectic was won by Frank Barker with a nett 61.5, with Rupert Smith second after a countback from Derek Scholey, both with nett 62.

Josh Galert was the winner of the Men’s Weekly Winners Shield with a nett 66, followed by Danny Cave with a nett 68, with third place going to Simon Barker with a nett 69.

The best gross prize was shared between Jack Stoppard and Tom Cawthorne, both with rounds of 70.

Dave Rossington carded the day’s best scratch score of 75 in winning the Weekend Medal with a nett 70 followed by Dave Kimberley with a nett 71 and Steve Asher on nett 72.

A best of the day nett 69 won Division Two for Anthony Brown, two better than Dale Gillespie with Neil Terry a further two shots off the pace in third. Terry Statham won the Third Division, shooting a nett 72 to win by one from Derick Brown, with Nigel Hamilton third with a nett 74.

In the Ladies’ Weekend medal Theresa Morton took first place with a nett 71, two clear of runner-up Jodie Peacock with Betty Moir third with a nett 77.

At Oakmere Park Golf Club Andy Sansom and Paul Keeton beat Mike Douglas and Martin Cooper in the Golfer of the Winter Saturday final with the Sunday Competition going to Paul Stoker and Phil Ellis, who beat Joe Aslam and Colin Walkden.

In the Saturday Stableford Stephan Bardgett won Division One with a total of 42 points, three better than Michael O’Neill, Dean Tomkinson and Paul Stoker.

Division Two was won by Ian Hayes with 42 points ,followed by Colin Ralphs, 41 points, and Roy Griffin, who took third on the back nine from David Sills, both with 40 points.

Malcolm Crossley won the Third Division on the back nine from Richard Lammin, both with 42 points, with John Macmillan third with 40 points.

Jack Taylor won the First Division of the Sunday Stableford with 40 points, one clear of Brian Waltham with Trevor Pearce taking third with 39 points.

Nick Mullin won Division Two after a countback from Colin Ralphs and Kevin Hulme, all with 39 points.

A best of the day 45 points saw Peter Turner win the Third Division, with Troy Anderson second with 42 points and Matt Rowbottom third with 41 points.

The top division of the Senior’s Stableford Eclectic went to Colin Wood with 39 points, three clear of Terry Clarke. Michael Marriot returned 37 points to win the Second Division by one from Keith Ramsell.

Division Three went to Jim Newton, who totalled 37 points to win by four from John Kenton.

The Thursday Medal was won by Jason Davies with a nett 72, two better than Kenneth McGregor.