‘Groundhog Day’ for Oliver in Africa Open

09-1886-8''Oliver Wilson
09-1886-8''Oliver Wilson

Oliver Wilson returned to action on the golf course last week in the Africa Open.

But, as with last year, the Coxmoor star, after a reasonable start over the opening 36 holes, fell away badly with closing rounds of 78 and 76 to finish on one over par.

This week he tees up in the Joburg Open, the second tournament of his two week stay in South Africa

After a month off , Coxmoor club mate Greg Owen starts his latest year on the PGA Tour in Hawaii tomorrow (Thursday).

Having regained his playing card for 2012 at the PGA Tour School in December, he faces the long journey from his Florida home to Hawaii for the Sony Hawaiian Open.

l John Bray won the First Division of the opening medal of 2012 at Coxmoor with a nett 70, off seven, one better than runner-up Jamie Waterfield with Robert Oakden and Ross Overton both returning the day’s best scratch scores of 72.

Craig Hardy won Division Two with a round of nett 67, five better than runner-up Tom Berry.

l Rufford Park’s Midweek Men’s Stableford was won by Russ Griffiths with 40 points after a countback from Alan Burton with third place going to Simon Barker, one point behind.

Emily-Jane Godber won the first Ladies’ Competition of the year at Rufford Park on Saturday, returning 38 to win by three from Caron Harrison with Jackie Carter in third with 33 points.

In the Bank Holiday Stableford, Jack Stoppard won Division One with 41 points, three clear of Steve Swindells, with Adam Price in third with 37 points.

Scott Seddon won Division Two with 41 points, two ahead of Brian Price and Kris Beet.

Matthew Freeman racked up a mammoth 49 points to win the Third Division by 10 points from Andrew Gordon with Terry Statham a further two points off the pace in third.

In Round One of the Winter League Eclectic Stableford, the First Division was won by John Stoppard after a countback from Alistar Kirby and Barry Alambritis, all with 39 points.

Derek Alderson won the Second Division after a countback from Conor Pegg, both with 41 points, with Marc Dudley in third, one point adrift.

John Deakin topped the Third Division with 40 points, followed by Mathew Back on 37 points and Richard Radzki with 35 points.

l The Top Division Oakmere Park’s Betterball Stableford went to Steven Mee and Crawford Hunter with 44 points, three ahead of runners-up Phil Ellis and Paul Stoker.

Terry Wilson and Matt Tinkin returned 40 points to win Division Two by one from David White and Peter Turner.

In the Saturday stableford David Cope won Division One with 38 points, one clear of Jonathan Glynne-Jones who took second on the back nine from Shaun Gerber.

Bill Sheffield carded the day’s best total of 42 points to win the Second Division by four from Stewart Thompson with Alan Seddon in third with 36 points.

Anthony Bromirski won Division Three with 40 points, two ahead of Neil Goulby, with third place going to Martin Robson on 37 points.

Andrew Henderson won the Thursday Medal with 34 points, one better than Andrew Sansom.

In the club’s final event of 2011 Trevor Pearce returned 42 points to win Division One by one from Paul Stoker, Clark Bradshaw and David Cope. Dale Gregory returned a best-of-the-day 45 points to win Division Two by four from James Robinson, with Bill Sheffield in third with 39 points.

Division Three was won by Martin Robson with 43 points, followed by Ken Harbron, 41 points, and Howard Henshaw, with 39.

l The Mansfield Golf Club Captain’s Drive Competition went to Bobby Macdonald on nett 73, winning the top prize and a bottle of malt whisky donated by captain Kevin Bell, by three from Ken Wagstaff, nett 76, with Tony Marriot in third with a nett 77.

Members of the club recently attended their presentation dinner dance evening, held at Norwood Hall, which included a grand auction that raised over £1,000 for captains’ Lynne Inman & Ned Bolton’s charities - which so far stands at £5,500 in aid of Rainbows Hospice and the Notts and Lincs Air Ambulance.

Winners receiving prizes were Jackie Rainbow, (Ladies’ Club Champion), Amy Oxbury, (Ladies’ Stableford Final and Singles Knock-out winner), Carol Thornton, (Ladies’ Medal Final and Ladies’ Pairs Knockout) with Angela Durham, Sandra and Ron Beckett, (Cooper Vase), Angela Durham and Lee Cartledge (Mixed pairs Knockout).

Men’s recipients were; Lee Molloy (Club Champion), Grenville Bailey (Geoff Sanders Memorial Cup), Jason Middleton and Ian Stout (Norwood Vase), Joe Fitzpatrick (Starkey Spoon), Ross Baggaley, (Stableford Final), Dennis Thompson (Medal Final), Grant Lee and Lee Molloy, (Gents’ Pairs Knockout), Ken Calderwood (Gents’ Singles Knockout), Tony Holmes, (Captain of Captains).

Juniors; Thomas Squires (Junior Club Champion) and Alex Smart (Junior Order of Merit).

General manager Paul Thornton gave thanks to all members who continue to support the club and special mention was made for all the fundraising efforts throughout the year.