Greg Owen finds form in battle for 2012 PGA Card

Share this article

WHILE the world was watching Darren Clarke lift the claret jug at Royal St Georges after his Open Championship triumph, Stateside Greg Owen was recording his best result so far this year in his quest to regain his PGA Card for 2012.

In the Chiquita Classic in Cincinnati, Owen was in fine form shooting rounds of 67, 70, 64 and 67 for a total of 268 to take a share of third place five behind the winner Scotland’s Russell Knox.

With the rain softened Arnold Palmer-designed course yielding birdies at every turn the scoreboard was drenched in red numbers as players set their season bests totals and Owen was not to be denied recording eagles in all four rounds during the week.

More importantly the result lifted him 13 places to 24th spot in the money list, the top 25 at the end of the year getting their all important playing rights for next years PGA Tour.

This week he stays in Ohio hoping to carry his form into the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Invitational as he seeks that first win on American soil.

On the European Tour Oliver Wilson will be looking to kick-start his year, that has seen him slip out of the world’s top 200 players, when he tees up in the Nordea Masters in Stockholm on Thursday.

Norwood Park’s scratch team will play Mapperley in the Semi Final of the Notts Union of Golf Club’s Inter Club Foursomes with Brierley Park taking on Rufford Park in the other Semi Final to be played on the 8th August.

In the Third Round Brierley Forest beat Worksop 2 up, Norwood won away at Chilwell Manor 1 up, Mapperley beat Serlby Park 3 up and Rufford Park beat Retford 1 up.

The Notts Open at Rushcliffe on Saturday was won by The Notts Golf Club’s Craig Swinburn with rounds of 66 and 68 for a three stroke win over Kevin Crossland of Worksop with Coxmoor’s Derek McJannet finishing as leading amateur in sixth place with a total of 141

Ashley Johnson won Coxmoor’s Coates Cup with 41 points one better than Andy Johnson with third place going to Bryan Bateman with 39 points.

The club’s Captains Charity Mixed Open went to the visiting pairing of A and G Priestley from Chilwell Manor followed by the home club’s Simon Woodward and Lynn Harris with the Rothley Park pairing of Ian Anderson and Suzie Everitt in third

Sue Taylor won Sherwood Forest Ladies Centenary Trophy nett with a nett 70 two clear of runner up Gillian Stump.

In the Medal Played at the same time the First Division went to Gillian Stump with a nett 72 followed by Gaynor Tunney with a nett 75 and Maureen Clarke with a nett 76 with Janet Melville carding the day’s best scratch score of 77.

Winners in the Extra June Stableford were Division One Sue Derbyshire 41pts, Division Two Carol Turvey 39 points with Kathy Shaw winning the Third Division with 30 points

Sue Linacre won the monthly Stableford after a count back from Sue Derbyshire both with 37 points one ahead of third placed Janet Melville.

Eunice Bunniss was the winner of the nine hole competition.

The winner of the R.L. Jones Bogey Competition was Julie Revill with a runaway total of 11 up with 11up Sue Taylor in second at 2 up. The bast morning score of came form Mary Ryan at 1 up with the best afternoon total of 2 down coming from Julie Lindsay.

Division One of the Par Competition went to Michelle Duckmanton from Julie Revill both at 4 up with Anne Woolley in third at 1 up.

In the July Medal & Challenge Bowl the Bowl was won by Sue Linacre with a nett 69 one ahead of Dorothy Wood

In the Top Division of the Medal Sue Linacre returned a gross 79, nett 69 to win by one from Dorothy Wood with Ann Wood in third with a nett 72.

The overall winners of the Bob Trott Trophy Greensome Stableford at Oakmere Park were Dale and Rob Gregory from the Second Division with a score of 47 points

Henry Klapowski carded 43 points to win the First Division of the Seniors Stableford by One from Geoff Renshaw.

In the Wednesday Stableford Division One went to Andrew Henderson with 42 points two better than

Alan Roberts with the Second Division going to Robert Coupe with 39 points three clear of Darren James.

The Third Division was won by Daryl Hicklin with a best of the day 45 points with Mark Conners in third three adrift of the winner.

At Norwood Park the Basher Hassan Trophy was won by Jamie Fox with a total of nett 69

The Men’s July Medal went to Henry Rem who returned a nett 64 with the ladies competition going to Linda Rushmere on nett 65.

In the Junior Medal Winner David Sanders took the top spot with a nett 66.

Phil Holt returned 46pts to win the Seniors Stableford.

Other Ladies medal winners were Monday Medal Sarah Wooley on nett 66 with the Ladies Medal going to Sandra Beckett with a nett 67 while the men;s medal went to Roy Fox on nett 64

The Invitation Day was won by Steven Musgrove & Derek Thorne with 44 points with the Mixed Competition going to Sarah Wooley & Penny Leadbetter with 43 points.