Birch wins Oakmere competition on back nine

Oakmere Park Golf Saturday, 18th January Medal Q.R. Division One was won on the back nine by Nigel Birch, pipping Douglas Nett after both had scored nett 72s

Friday, 7th February 2014, 6:00 am

Alan Seddon was third on the back nine with a nett 73.

Division Two winner was Geoff Coleman on nett 68, two ahead of Carl Henshaw with Chris Walker third on nett 71.

Frank Loach’s nett 66 won him Division Three, Paul Keeton second on nett 68 and Anthony Bromirski third on the back nine on nett 70.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Saturday, 18th January Nine Hole Competition Stableford Q.R. Division One winner was Joe Aslam on 21 points.

The club’s Sunday, 19th January Betterball Stableford Division One was won by Andy Henderson and Alan Roberts with 49 points, Lyndon Purnell and Philip Harrington beating Andy Sansom and Richard Aldread into second on the back nine after both pairs managed 46 points.

David Oldfield and Andy Green (45 points) took Division Two, two ahead of Philip Robinson and Darren Goodman with Alan Ward and Lee Boulton third with 41.

Terry Pennick won Division One of the Monday, 20th January Seniors’ Winter Eclectic Round Seven Stableford with 39 points, Rick Richardson second on the back nine with 36.

Chris Whiting’s 36 points won him Division Two on the back nine from Tony Smedley.

Wednesday, 22nd January Midweek Stableford Q.R. Division One was won by Jamie Simpson (41 points), while victory in the Ladies’ Section Tuesday, 14th January Two from Three Betterball Stableford went to C. Bowen, J. Goodman, and S. Spence with 62 points.

At Rufford Park Golf Club, the Thursday, 23rd January Men’s Stableford Non-Qualifying saw Jim Harvey (17 h/c) win with a convincing 47 points.

Dave Ball (11 h/c) also had a good round with 44 points, Neil Fox (11 h/c) was close behind on 43 points and Dennis Hoult (10 h/c) was fourth with 40 points.

In the Saturday, 25th January Men’s Winter League Eclectic No. 5, Stableford Non-Qualifying, Derrick Spence (9 h/c) won Division One with 40 points.

Gary Laverick (5 h/c) took second on a countback from Simon Barker (5 h/c), both scoring 38 points, and junior captain Ben Jones was fourth with 37 points.

Division Two saw Derek Alderson (13 h/c) taking first place with 43 points, Andrew Hall (11 h/c) was second from Andrew White (11 h/c), who scored 40 points, and Dennis Hoult (10 h/c) was fourth with 39 points.

Phillip North (24 h/c) took first place in Division Three with the best score of the day on 43 points.

Captain, Malcolm Bevan (16 h/c) squeezed into second spot on a countback from Simon Cox (23 h/c) and Mick Baggaley (22 h/c) respectively, all scoring 37 points.