South Normanton win East Midlands Counties League Cup after beating Radcliffe on penalties

South Normanton won the East Midlands Counties League Cup after beating Radcliffe 5-4 on penalties.

Normanton went ahead early before being begged back as Radcliffe took control of the game.

The first half was a very nervy affair, but the Normanton skipper Danny Roberts steadied the ship from Jamie Pawley’s corner with a bullet header which a defender tried to clear but in vain in the 5th minute to give South Normanton the lead.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On 28 minutes Kane Jellyman hit a hard low strike eight yards out, which was saved by Radcliffe keeper Hadlee Dunne.

At the other end Normanton keeper Steve Smith had no saves to make as the defence stood firm.

In the second half Radcliffe came out with a purpose and made an impression.

And on 50 minutesJack Smith came close with a good shot from 18 yards, which went just wide of the right post.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Smith made his first save on 69 minutes when he parried the ball around the left hand post.

Radcliffe continued to push and Jack Smith levelled on 77 minutes when he flicked in a cross from close range to give Smith no chance.

Smith pulled off a great reaction save in the first half of extra time to keep the scores level.

It was a vital save as South Normanton struggled to get in to their stride and had to settle for penalties.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

South Normnaton went first with the penalties and Ant Fay, David Hinds, Kyle Johnson, Tom Bereridge and Luke Crosby all scored.

The last penalty taker for Radcliffe missed and the day and the Cup belonged to South Normanton Athletic

SNAFC: Ste Smith, Dave Leigh, Sam Keenan, Danny Roberts c, Kane Jellyman, Frazer Kirk, Kyle Johnson, Dan Riley (David Hind 85 mins), Luke Crosby, Jamie Pawley (Tom Beveridge 78 mins) Ash Whitt (Ant Fay 94 mins).

Subs not used: Adam Gillott, Damian Clark.

Radcliffe. Hadlee Dunne, Sam Adams, Eddy West, James Spence c, Liam Smallwood, Paul Duram, Kieran Davies, Jack Smith, Liam Motson, Lee Potts.

Subs, Joe Hagarty, Sam Winch, Tom Ramshall, Toby Sewell, Jake Morris.

Man-of-the-match: Danny Roberts.

Related topics: