Sixth defeat on the trot ends Teversal’s season on a low note

editorial image

Teversal’s Northern Counties East League season ended in a sixth consecutive loss when they went down 2-1 at home to a last minute Hemsworth MW goal to end up 15th in Division One.

It was typical end of season fayre on offer at Carnarvon Street as the sides played out a goalless first half in the spring sunshine as both sides cautiously tested out each others defences, free kicks striking defensive walls and wayward crosses flying over the crossbar.

Teversal’s Sam West sent a ball through for Triston Burrell to run at goal, but a defender came sliding in to sent the ball out for a corner.

Hemsworth’s best chance of the half came from a free kick which flew across the face of the goal, was booted back into the area, the Teversal defence partially cleared, and the resulting incoming shot flew straight into the hands of the Teversal keeper.

The second half started at a more furious pace, and within four minutes of the re-start Teversal had taken the lead.

Instead of taking a shot himself, Burrell squared the ball to Jordan Jones, who calmly slotted the ball under the goalkeeper and into the net.

After going behind, Hemsworth started to turn up the pressure, and on 79 minutes they were back level, Nick Guest slotting home the ball from a low cross.

Jordan Jones was causing the visitors problems down the left hand side, and a couple of his crosses forced saves from the keeper, including collecting the ball from the head of Burrell and leaping at full stretch to save a Sean Dickinson header.

With the 90 minutes up, and three added minutes just announced by the referee, the visitors snatched the victory and the points as Jason Yates headed home from a corner.

TEVERSAL: Ryan Brooks, Andrew Hauton, Ricky Starbuck, Craig Newton (Brad Cox 68), Colin Cockerill, Jordan Schofield, Matt Jones, Sean Dickinson, Sam West (Lewis Weaver 75), Triston Burrell, Jordan Jones. Subs not used: Jacob Ashley, Joshua Radford, Joseph Darby.

HEMSWORTH MINERS WELFARE: Jamie Oddy, Matty Stor, Cameron Clark, Cory Dixon (D’Arcy Pugh 75), Harry Viggars, Andy Hart, Nash Connolly, Jason Yates, Nick Guest, Andy Hayward (Connor Williams 79), Lee Dawson.

REFEREE: Michael Brownsett.