Bilsthorpe Celtic make league history with their trophy treble glory

Shirebrook Model Village, RBL V Bilsthorpe United
Shirebrook Model Village, RBL V Bilsthorpe United

BILSTHORPE Celtic made history on Sunday when they complete their treble by beating Linden Jacques 5-0 to secure the Chad Mansfield Sunday League Premier Division title.

That meant they had become the first club from the Mansfield league ever to win the prestigious trinity of the Premier Division, the League Premier Cup and the Notts FA Sunday Premier Cup.

Celtic had seen off Plough Barflys in the county competition final and beaten Linden Jacques in the League Cup.

On Sunday it was Jacques, only able to field 10 men, who were the victims again as a Lucan Barker hat-trick led the way. Gavin King also netted as did keeper Dale Shepherd who, with the game won and just five minutes left, was allowed to go up front and show his scoring prowess.

Manager Wayne Savage said: “It has been a brilliant season.

“I would like to congratulate ll the players. I am very proud of them.

“Next year we will be representing Notts in the All-England Cup and we will also be in the Midland Cup, so we have got a lot to look forward to.”

The Ravo missed out on the Division Two title after being held 5-5 in a sensational game against Sherwood Rangers.

That left Bilsthorpe United free to take the trophy with a 5-0 win at Shirebrook RBL B, K. Wells with a hat-trick.

Kings Arms’ hopes of winning the Division Three title were rocked when they were held 2-2 by South Forest.

It could have been worse as Kings Arms scored in the 86th and 90th minutes when they were heading for a shock defeat.

Leaders PSV Woodhouse won 5-2 at Fox and Crown.

In Division Four, Shirebrook RBL C clinched the title in style, slamming FC T’Maypole 9-2, Scott Ashmore leading the way with five goals, which saw them leapfrog Mansfield Ath (Sun) into top spot with the last game.

Linney Group celebrated only their second win, triumphing 2-1 at bottom club The Star. The goals came from Sam Reid and captain Nathan Johnson’s first for the club in three years of playing for them.

Pic Cap Shirebrook Model Village, RBL V Bilsthorpe United.

PREMIER DIVISION: AFC Sutton 3 (A. White 3), Pinxton Sun Inn 5; Bilsthorpe Celtic 5 (L. Barker 3, G. King, G. Sheppard), Linden Jacques 0.

DIVISION ONE: Rifle Volunteer 6, Local Inn 3.

DIVISION TWO: Mansfield Police 3 (D. Simpson, R. Cornell, S. Hunter), Forest Rovers 3 (J. Ashton, C. Slack, J. Lovelock); The Ravo 5 (P. Crowther, J. Prudence, A. Thorpe, D. Walker, C. Harpham), Sherwood Rangers 5 (P. Clamp 2, D. Tucker, L. Pilter, S. Simpson); Shirebrook RBL B 0, Bilsthorpe United 5 (K. Wells 3, B. Wells, T. Bryan).

DIVISION THREE: Cockle 06 2, Yates Mansfield 2 (K. Errington, A. Turner); Kings Arms 2 (J. Turner, I. Belcher), South Forest 2; Kirkby Cross Snooker Hall 3 (K. Gilbert, B. Wood, S. Barton), Annesley Park Ath 0; The Masons Arms 5, Boothy’s 3 (I. Burrell 2, S. Taylor); Blidworth Wel 703 5, The Duke of Wellington 0; Fox & Crown 2, PSV Woodhouse 5.

DIVISION FOUR: The Star 1, Linney Group 2 (S. Reid, N. Johnson); Ling Forest Ath 1 (B. Jones), The Bridge Tavern 1 (L. Davies); Shirebrook RBL C 9 (Scott Ashmore 5, C. Barnes, J. Spizer, B. Spizer, R. Bailey), FC T’Maypole 2 (Jamie Flint, JJ Flint); Oak Tree Mango 2 (Branton, Bosworth), Derwent 1 (Bailey).