Stags announce new squad numbers

editorial image

Mansfield Town have announced their first team squad numbers ahead of the club’s first season back in the Football League.

Paul Cox’s men were crowned as champions of non-league in April, following a five year absence from the elite 72.

The Stags’ chief has assembled a squad of 24 players, seven of whom are new signings.

“I asked the players to pick a number and the numbers which were duplicated we flipped a coin for it,” said manager Cox,

“Whether you’re number one or number 50, you will have to work to get in this team and stay in this team. The players understand that. It doesn’t matter what number they will have on their back, it’s about performances and consistency.”

Squad numbers 2013-14:

1. Alan Marriott

2. Ritchie Sutton

3. Paul Black

4. John Dempster

5. John McCombe

6. Martin Riley

7. Louis Briscoe

8. Keiran Murtagh

9. Matt Rhead

10. Lee Stevenson

11. Sam Clucas

12. Ryan Tafazolli

13. Anthony Howell

14. Jake Speight

15. Ross Dyer

16. James Jennings

17. Lee Beevers

18. Ben Hutchinson

19. Chris Clements

20. Lindon Meikle

21. Adam Murray

22. Ian Deakin

23. Jamie McGuire

30. Colin Daniel