Mansfield & Ashfield Schools bow out in extra-time

Having reached the last 32 of the ESFA Playstation U13Inter Association Trophy for the first time, Mansfield and Ashfield Schools were beaten 2-1 by East Riding in extra-time.

This was a very close,hard-fought encounter with both teams trying to find a rhythm on the heavy pitch. The match went from end to end for the first 20 minutes with neither side making a successful,clear attempt on goal.

However, that changed on 22 minutes when Deacon Lee brilliantly volleyed Nathan Clarke’s cross into the net to give Mansfield and Ashfield the lead.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Chances then followed at both ends with Deacon Lee having a header cleared off the goal-line and a shot well saved.

On31 minutes East Riding were back in the game as top scorer Oliver Haigh blasted a twenty-five yard free kick into the roof of the net.

Just before the half-time break and still playing the better football Lee put Ryan Ingram clear. He passed the ball past the advancing keeper but, lacking the necessary pace, it was cleared off the line.

The visitors increased their pace at the beginning of the second half and only resolute defending from the Mansfield & Ashfield defence prevented any clear shot on target.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Having weathered the storm, the home side came back into the game and in a purple patch Ryan Ingram might have wrapped the game up, but one effort was saved by Thompson and a second narrowly went wide of the far post.

The teams continued to battle for supremacy for the remainder of the half without changing the


The first period of extra-time was as repeat of what had happened for the whole of the match

but neither side being able to break the other defence.

As the game went into the final stages, the bigger, stronger East Riding side seemed to have the edge and finally went ahead through Kai Birch.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The home side fought on valiantly to the final whistle but couldn’t find a reply.

Mansfield and Ashfield: Connor Roderick, Kyle Pottage-Coleman; Liam Spencer, Sam Skelton, Sam Harvey, Kian Sketchley, Nathan Clarke, Oliver Smith, Harvey Jones, Max Gee, Lewis Godson, Dillon Hodgkinson, Deacon Lee, Ryan Ingram, Will Godson, Jamie Vaughan.