Cuckney cricketers retain Notts Premier League Twenty20 crown

Cuckney celebrate winning the Notts T20 Final   -Pic by:Richard Parkes
Cuckney celebrate winning the Notts T20 Final -Pic by:Richard Parkes

Cuckney retained the Nottinghamshire Premier Cricket League Twenty20 title on Sunday after beating Welbeck in the final at their home ground.

Their reward is the opportunity to host the ECB East Midlands Area Finals Day on Sunday, 11th August.

The finals day started with the hosts taking on Thoresby Colliery, winners of the of the play-off between the Bassetlaw and South Notts Cricket League T20 champions.

Thoresby batted first and scored 136-8 in the first innings with John Skinner top scoring with 47 and Richard Bostock (3-20) and Tom Ullyott (3-25) leading the Cuckney attack.

The reigning champions took just over 16 overs to overcome their target with Will Ullyott hitting 39 at the top of the order before the experienced pair of Will Butler and Richard Stroh seeing them home with both players ending on 29 not out.

The second semi-final saw Welbeck overcome Mansfield Hosiery Mills in a much tighter contest.

The Millers batted first and posted 177 for 5 with Tom and Matt New starring with innings of 80 and 66. Welbeck started at a pace with Martyn Dobson (59) and Matt Higgins (66) putting on 124 for the first wicket.

But four quick wickets pegged them back before Jon Ball saw them home with 29*.

Cuckney then took on Welbeck in the final and when Cuckney batted first, their batsmen posted the highest total of the day when they closed on 196-4.

The Ullyott brothers again starred with Will hitting 88 and Tom 51.

Welbeck found this target beyond their reach and were dismissed for 159 in 19.4 overs with Dobson scoring 58 and Adam Burgess 33.

Tom Ullyott rounded off a fine day with figures of 3-9.