Coxmoor pair fail to make cut

COXMOOR tour professionals Oliver Wilson and Greg Own both failed to make the cut in their respective competitions last week.

Wilson finished on seven over par after 36 holes of the Open de Andalucia with Owen missing out by one on the Nationwide Tour’s Chitimacha Louisiana Open.

Ashley Johnson won the First Division of Coxmoor’s Junior Medal, returning a nett 68 to win after a countback from Lewis Burton Williams followed by Sam Darrington and Jack Worley on 73 nett.

In Division Two Rebecca Williams took the top spot with a nett 68, four better than Josh Creed with Lauren Williams third with a nett 88.

In Rufford Park’s Weekend Medal low score were needed to figure in all three Divisions.

Richard Rowley won Division One returned the day’s best gross score of 70 for a nett 63, to finish six better than Mick Laverick who took second after a countback from Mark Burrell.

Division Two went to Richard Bradford Jnr with 63 points followed by Garry Wells with nett 67 and Dave Ball on nett 68.

Young Eddie Turner-Bennett got back to his winning ways, taking Division Three after a countback with John Hind, both with nett 66 with Geoffrey Brown third with a nett 68.

In the Wednesday Medal David Lindley took first place after a countback from Jack Stoppard and Andrew Smith, all with 38 points.

The March AM/AM was won by the team of Jodie Peacock, Jon Peacock, Dave Wilson and Richard Bradford Jnr with 94 points, two clear of the field.

l At Oakmere Park the First Division of the Saturday Stableford went to Paul Stoker with 43 points, followed by Jason Davies, 39 points with Sanjeev Sandhu taking third on the back nine from Nigel Richardson, both with 38 points.

Paul Tomlin also returned 43 points in winning the Second Division by four from Kenny McGregor and Robert Gregory.

Division Three was won by Richard Lammin with 42 points, one better than Martin Cooper with Gary Oscroft in third with 40 points.

Division One of the Sunday Medal was won by Dean Tomkinson on nett 69, followed by David Cope, nett 71, and Dale Shepherd, nett 72.

A best of the day nett 64 won the Second Division for Phillip Robinson, four clear of Daniel Oldfield, who took second on the back nine from Michael Baines.

Timothy Walker’s nett 67 left him two clear at the top of Division Three with D. Oldfield in second with nett 69, two better than third-placed John Villiers.

Paul Gwatkin returned 40 points to win the Wednesday stableford by three from David Cooper.

In the Ladies’ Winter Merit Final Jan Goodman took the honours with 39 points followed by Angela Robinson, 38, Pat Wilcox, 37, and Ruth Pennick, 33.

Dorothy Bradshaw won the Fun Stableford with 33 points, one better than Colette Mullen.

The pairing of Stephanie Freeman and Di Payne carded 34 points to win the Coronation Foursomes by three from Angela Robinson and Jan Goodman.

Margeret Villiers won the Sunday Stableford with 31 points, six clear of Julie Walkden on 26.