Committee members resign amid fury over Mill’s appeal decision

At the Nottinghamshire Premier Cricket League’s annual meeting, eight out of nine previously elected officials announced that, for reasons connected directly to the recent Mansfield Hosiery Mills disciplinary appeal hearing, they were not willing to stand for a further term of office in 2014.

As such it was only possible on the evening to fill only four of the 12 elected places on the League’s management committee.

Mills recently won their appeal against automatic relegation from the Notts Premier Cricket League and a three-year ban for an alleged breach of rules on payments.

League Chairman Peter Johnson, who is among those standing down, thanked all of the officers of the League for their efforts on behalf of the Premier League and the support that they had given him personally over many years.

With only three named officers having been elected, control of the Premier League will now pass temporarily to the Nottinghamshire Cricket Board who will act on an interim basis until such time as a league EGM is convened in the New Year, at which further League officials will be elected.

Johnson, a key figure in the formation of the League in 1999 and chairman for nine years, encouraged the member clubs to actively engage with the Cricket Board in seeking a resolution to the League’s immediate problems and to assist in identifying and naming those persons that they wish to administer the Premier League going forward.

Nottinghamshire Cricket Board Chairman Tony Palfreman said “It is most unfortunate that recent events have led to the present situation where there is a reluctance by individuals to continue to offer their volunteer services to the management committee of the NPL.

“Our intent is to support the Board’s own governance of the game by providing strategic leadership until responsibility can be devolved back to the management committee and to support the Premier League in re-establishing itself as the peak of the recreational cricket pyramid in the county.”