BASSETLAW ROUND-UP: Hosiery Mills on song

Thoresby batsman Martin Cheshire adds runs against Worksop.
Thoresby batsman Martin Cheshire adds runs against Worksop.

Mansfield Hosiery Mills took a maximum 20 points in their resounding 93-run win at North Wheatley with Leverton as the home team were bowled out for 89 in the Bassetlaw League Championship on Saturday.

The wicket suited both sets of bowlers as the third-placed visitors had been all out for 182.

Clipstone’s Brad Wright top-scored with a knock of 70, well supported by three innings above 30 by Ranana Pathum Jayaneththi (32), Taylor Wright (30), and Lee Wilson (35), in their total of 237-8 against Anston in what turned into a 110-run win.

The two Anston bowlers to take four-wicket hauls were Sam Taylor, with 4-82, and Amila Perera, 4-49.

Perera provided Anston’s highest score of 45 with Andrew Pickering making 42 as Anston were all out for 127.

Clipstone bowlers Ian Woodall (4-29) and Iain O’Brien (4-38) made the most significant dents in the innings, Clipstone taking maximum points while Anston gained four.

Glapwell’s 180 all out saw almost half of the runs being scored by Matt Page, with an unbeaten 50, and John Skinner’s 41.

Glapwell took 17 points from a winning draw with bottom club Edwinstowe replying with 122-9.

That final wicket eluded the home team with the best bowling coming from Chris Webber (3-37) and Danny Bircumshaw (3-34).

Adam Walter scored 32 for the visitors with James Peacock (4-36), and Paul Benson (4-39) making the most significant bowling contributions.

A full 20 wickets were taken at Stone Close where Kiveton Park beat Notts and Arnold Amateur by 27 runs.

Kiveton’s 132 was enough to succeed against the second innings of 105.

Second-placed Retford visited Papplewick Hall and came away as victors to close the gap on leaders Papplewick & Linby.

Alex Lloyd produced a fine 99 in Papplewick’s 205-8, yet economic bowling from Chandra Kumara (6-28) followed by his innings of 67 provided a solid contribution for Retford with Mark Bull offering a half century in their reply. Shaharyar Aslam took 4-21 for the home team.

Thoresby hosted Worksop and batted first, making 196-9 with Tebogo Mokwena (33), Robert Shead (58) and Lee Willis (38) providing the backbone of the innings.

David Hancocks took 3-55 for Worksop, who moved their own innings to a match-winning 197 for the loss of two wickets. Chris Taylor made a substantial 76 with Tim Smith Jnr adding 30.

With only one game drawn, the table is opening up as we enter the third month of the season.


CHAMPIONSHIP: Anston v Kiveton Park, Edwinstowe v Thoresby Colliery, Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Glapwell, Papplewick & Linby v North Wheatley with Leverton, Retford v Notts & Arnold Amateur, Worksop v Clipstone. DIVISION ONE: Caythorpe II v Clumber Park, Everton v Ordsall Bridon II, Firbeck v Blidworth, Mansfield v Harthill, Whitwell v Grassmoor, West Cavaliers II v Killamarsh. DIVISION TWO: Farnsfield II v Lea Park, Glapwell II v Roses, Killamarsh II v Cuckney II, Milton v Anston II, Thoresby Colliery II v Papplewick & Linby II, Welbeck II v Mansfield Hosiery Mills II. DIVISION THREE: Clumber Park II v Woodsetts, Kiveton Park II v Welbeck III, Marshalls v Wadworth, Notts & Arnold Amateur II v Mansfield II, Teversal v Retford II. DIVISION FOUR: Blidworth II v Everton II, East Drayton v Cuckney III, Notts & Arnold Amateur III v Waleswood, North Wheatley with Leverton II v Milton II, South Normanton v Worksop II, Sherwood v Thoresby Park. DIVISION FIVE: Blyth v Misterton, Grassmoor II v Clumber Park III, Harthill II v Whitwell II, Mansfield III v Mansfield Hosiery Mills III, Nomads v Wiseton. DIVISION SIX: Aston Hall III v Ollerton, Farnsfield III v Bilsthorpe, Rockware v Bawtry II, Shirebrook v Todwick, Welbeck IV v Teversal II. DIVISION SEVEN: Clumber Park IV v Killamarsh III, Waleswood II v Glapwell III, Woodsetts II v Blyth II. DIVISION EIGHT: Anston IV v Thoresby Colliery III, Cuckney IV v Mansfield IV, Lea Park II v Thurcroft, Woodsetts III v Worksop III.