BASSETLAW LEAGUE: Inept Glapwell turn in worst performance of the season

Share this article

FOR some unknown reason, Glapwell reserved their worst performance of the season for a match that everyone expected them to win comfortably.

They travelled to Killamarsh and were soundly thrashed for an inept display by a side that has had more things go wrong for them in the first few weeks than most teams would expect in five seasons!

Batting first, Glapwell could only muster a dismal 165 all out with nobody coming to terms with the spin of Killamarsh skipper Parminder Mudhar who helped himself to 5 for 43 in a mesmerizing spell.

Despite losing five wickets, Killamarsh ran out comfortable winners with Eranga Gangoda making 32 and the talented youngster Kriss Watts adding 46. Matt Page with 3 for 44 tried hard to turn the tide, but he was left far too much to do.

A match reduced to 40 overs per side produced three of the finest catches you will see on any ground this season. Blidworth’s Dave Willcock and Martin Vella pulled off two incredible ones with the latter sprinting about 40 yards before diving and holding a chance he had no business getting close to.

For Thoresby Colliery, Australian import Stuart Coles pulled a steepleing one out of the sky on the run as his side managed a winning draw.

Batting first Thoresby made 156 all out with Farook Aziz (37) and Nyeem Ahmed (33) top scoring. Asanga Weerasighe (4 for 47) was the biggest threat and deserved his success for an impressive stint.

In reply several Blidworth players got started but nobody went through with the effort.

Dave Willcock top-scored but they were hanging on at the finish on 97 for 8.

Farnsfield murdered Marshalls who are in the middle of a bad run of league form.

Once again skipper Paul Van den Heuval (56) propped up the Gainsborough side innings and with the help of James Deacon (46) they reached an all out total of 183 which never remotely looked like being enough.

Adam Tillcock (5 for 77) and Dave Loveridge (3 for 29) did most of the damage for an in-form Farnsfield attack.

It didn’t take long, just 32 overs for Farnsfield to race to victory by nine wickets. Adam Tillcock (59), Michael Bell (46 n.o.) and Mark Hanson (67*) making batting look as simple for Farnsfield as it had looked difficult for Marshalls.

In Division One, Edwinstowe were back on course after last week’s setback with a nine wicket win over Newark/Ransomes.

The Newark/Ransomes innings was a rather laborious affair scoring just 124 for 8 in their 46 overs with Simon Vickery (30) and James O’Leary (35) top-scoring.

James Peacock (3 for 23) and Gareth Price (3 for 23) were the pick of the Edwinstowe attack but at no time did the Newark side look like getting on top.

It looked relatively simple when Edwinstowe took to the crease and they passed the victory marker on 125 for 1 and looked extremely comfortable in doing so.

Australian Peter Colbourne (66*) and James Peacock (32*) were undisturbed by anything that Newark/Ransomes bowled at them and it was quickly over.

Caythorpe seconds completely destroyed Welbeck seconds by six wickets with relative ease.

Batting first, Welbeck were bowled out for just 151 with Darren Walker (30) and Robert Higgins (48*) being the only two to cause Caythorpe any trouble.

Tom Hemmings (3 for 37) and Andrew Staszkiewicz (3 for 40) caused most of the damage.

In reply Andrew Staszkiewicz (52*) and Richard Beaumont (50) completed the job in style.

Mansfield & Pleasley’s good run of form which had seen them elevated to the top of the table ended abruptly at Everton as they were crushed by 80 runs.

Batting first, Everton made 162 for 8 with Mark Anthony (71) doing a brilliant job to prop up the innings.

Carl Wilkinson was once again the best M & P bowler taking 4 for 49.

However nobody could have guessed that M & P would be bowled out for just 82, but they were. Chris Woods (5 for 29) and Jon Shaw (3 for 32) bowled brilliantly for Everton who are a fast improving side and are climbing the table rapidly.