Town cops win diversity award

editorial image

CRIME fighters helping to keep Mansfield’s streets safe have been recognised for their achievements at a glitzy Nottinghamshire Police event.

The force’s annual awards ceremony took place last week as a way to honour police officers, PCSOs and some members of the public for their success and hard work.

The event was held at the Arrow Centre in Hucknall last Wednesday.

Chief Constable Julia Hodson said: “Nights like these are a great opportunity to honour those who are unswerving in their dedication and commitment to reducing crime, saving people’s lives and making our communities safer.

“It is an evening to recognise officers and staff who consistently, and exceptionally, serve our communities by demonstrating real courage or delivering to the highest possible standards.”

Among the winners were Pc Richie Howcroft, who scooped the Ged Walker Award, named in honour of an Ollerton officer killed in the line of duty in 2003.

Ollerton response officer Pc Howcroft led three men from a burning house in Rainworth almost three years ago, two of whom were later jailed for their part in the incident which led to the fire.

His actions have already earned him a nomination by the Police Federation for The Sun newspaper’s Police Bravery Awards and a commendation from the Chief Constable.

The Mansfield Town Centre Safer Neighbourhood Team scooped the Diversity in Action Team Award.

Having introduced a Designated Public Places Order in the town centre, the beat team developed a communications plan for Polish speakers.

Working with the owner of a local Polish food store, the team translated documents explaining the order to prevent breaches and to reduce incidents of excessive alcohol consumption.

The team have also set up ‘Coffee with a Copper’ sessions where members of the public give feedback and help complete surveys about public perceptions of the town centre.

Sgt Eddie Brudzinski, Pc Carl Gabbitas, Pc Diederik Coetzee, Pc Julie Salisbury, Pc Richard Blackwell, Pc Colin Kirkup, Pc Andrew Walker, PCSO James Wilkinson and PCSO Matthew Sisson made up the winning team.