Parliamentary candidates standing in Mansfield and Ashfield announced

General Election.
General Election.

The candidates standing in the General Election in Mansfield and Ashfield have been announced this afternoon (Thursday).

In Mansfield, Labour’s Sir Alan Meale will be hoping to win the seat for a seventh time while in neighbouring Ashfield party colleague Gloria De Piero is looking to retain her seat she won in 2010.

Sir Alan will be battling it out against Andrea Louise Clarke (The Conservative Party), Paul Frost (Green Party), Sid Pepper (UKIP), Tony Roberts (Liberal Democrat) and Karen Rachel Mary Seymour (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition).

He has been the town’s MP since since 1987, although his majority at the last election in 2010 was reduced by around 5,000 even though he actually gained marginally more votes than in 2005.

In Ashfield, Ms De Piero won the seat by just 192 votes ahead of Liberal Democrat Jason Zadrozny.

Mr Zadrozny was due to stand again in the 7th May poll but has stood down after he was arrested by police about historical allegations of child sex offences - which he ‘vehemently’ denies.

He has been replaced by former Mansfield deputy mayor Philip Smith as the Liberal Democrat candidate.

In addition to Ms De Piero and Mr Smith, Simon Paul Ashcroft (UKIP), Mike Buchanan (Justice for Men and Boys) and Helen Jane Harrison (The Conservative Party) will also be standing.