Newark and Sherwood faces split council

Share this article

OFFICIALS confirmed late on Friday Newark and Sherwood District Council is without a majority-holding party.

In results announced shortly after 6pm, it was revealed the Conservatives had won 22 seats, Labour 15, the Liberal Democrats three and independents six.

The majority of the wards in the west of the district towards Mansfield saw Labour victories.

In Edwinstowe it was a double victory for the party as Celia Brooks and John Peck both won more than 1,000 votes with Conservative Brian Jarvis third.

Blidworth saw Independent Geoff Merry defeat Labour’s Hayley Warren by 33 votes to take the second seat in the ward, the other more comfortably scooped by Labour’s Yvonne Woodhead at 652 votes.

In Clipstone Labour duo Sheila Soar and Dave Thompson defeated the Independent challenge of Steve Parkhouse, while in Rainworth there was a trio of Labour wins by Linda Tift, John Bradbury and John Middleton.

In Ollerton it was another hat-trick for Labour with Abbie Truswell, Benjamin Wells and Stan Crawford all securing more than 900 votes, while in Boughton the party was also celebrating as Linda Shilling and David Staples beat Conservative Tim Wildgust into third.

Turnout across the district was 44.2 per cent.