Teachers’ strike closes schools across Mansfield and Ashfield

THOUSANDS of school pupils in Mansfield and Ashfield will be staying home on Thursday as teachers go on strike in a bitter dispute over their pensions.

Many classrooms will fall silent when teachers walk out in protest at proposed pension changes, which union bosses say will lead to them working longer, paying in more and receiving less when they retire.

Teachers’ unions the National Union of Teachers (NUT), the Association of Teachers and Lecturers and the University and College Union, as well as the Public and Commercial Services Union (PCS), have all balloted their members for strike action.

The secondary schools closed to students are: Manor School at Mansfield Woodhouse, Dukeries College at Ollerton, Forest Town’s Garibaldi College, Sutton Centre, Kirkby College, Quarrydale School in Sutton, Selston Arts and Community College and Tibshelf School.

Those closed to certain year groups are: Meden School at Warsop, Queen Elizabeth’s and All Saints’ schools in Mansfield, Joseph Whitaker School in Rainworth, Ashfield School and Bolsover School.

Primary schools are also affected and the following have revealed to Nottinghamshire County Council they will be closed to pupils: Carsic Primary School, Sutton; Ethel Wainwright Primary School, Mansfield; Hillocks Primary School, Sutton; Holly Primary School, Forest Town; Kirkby Woodhouse Primary School (closed for an inset day and parents aware); Leamington Primary School, Sutton; Leas Park Junior School, Mansfield Woodhouse; Ollerton Primary School; Peafield Lane Primary School, Mansfield Woodhouse; Python Hill Primary School, Rainworth; St Patrick’s Catholic Primary, Mansfield; Sutton Nursery Centre.

Those only partially open are: Abbey Hill Primary School, Kirkby; Annesley Primary School; Bagthorpe Primary School, Selston; Blidworth Oaks Primary and Nursery School; Bracken Hill Special School, Kirkby; Cuckney CofE Primary School; Dalestorth Primary School, Sutton; Eastlands Junior School, Meden Vale; Farmilo Primary School, Pleasley; Halam CofE Primary School; Healdswood Infant School, Sutton; Heathlands Primary School, Rainworth; Hetts Lane Infant School, Warsop; Holly Hill Primary School, Selston; Jeffries Primary School, Kirkby; King Edwin Primary School, Edwinstowe; Lake View Primary School, Rainworth; Lowe’s Wong Infant and Junior School, Southwell; Maun Infant School, Ollerton; Newlands Junior School, Forest Town; Newstead Primary School; Priestsic Primary and Nursery, Sutton; Rosebrook Primary and Nursery School, Mansfield; St Philip Neri with St Bede Primary & Nursery, Mansfield; Wynndale Primary, Mansfield.

For the latest information on school closures visit www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk/schoolclosures

See this week’s Chad for more on the teachers’ strike.