Schools hope for rebuilds

NOTTINGHAMSHIRE County Council is today finalising which local schools it wants to see considered for private sector-backed rebuilds under a Government programme.

A list of 55 county schools assessed as most in need, nearly half of which are in the Mansfield and Ashfield area, will be sent off to the Department of Education.

The Government scrapped the previous administration’s Building Schools for the Future Scheme and replaced it with the Priority School Building Programme, inviting local education authorities apply.

Around 100 to 300 schools are expected to benefit nationally, with £2 billion available. Long-term private finance initiatives would provide the cash.

Anthony May, the council’s corporate director for children and families said: “With a £2 billion budget for the entire country, clearly we need to be realistic, but we are confident our bid will be considered seriously by Government.”

Local schools on the list for consideration are; Mansfield: Ethel Wainwright Primary, Abbey Primary, Rosebrook Primary and Nursery, High Oakham Primary, Intake Farm Primary, Farmilo Primary in Pleasley, Fountaindale Special School.

Warsop: Meden School. Forest Town: Garibaldi. Rainworth: Joseph Whitaker. Ollerton: Maun Infant School, Ollerton Primary and Dukeries College.

Sutton: Leamington Primary, Carsic Primary, Dalestorth Primary, Daneswood Junior, Sutton Centre, Selston Arts and Community College, Holly Hill Primary in Selston and John Davies Primary in Huthwaite.

Kirkby: Abbey Hill Primary and Kirkby College.