Mansfield District Council announces new chairman

editorial image

Mansfield District Council appointed Coun Katrina Atherton, ward councillor for Manor, as its new chair of the council for the year ahead.

She is also chair of select commission two which covers crime and regeneration.

Coun John Smart, ward councillor for Ransom Wood, was appointed as the council’s vice-chair.

The appointments were made at the council’s annual meeting, where Coun Andy Wetton was presented with a past chair’s medal and thanked for his services.

The chair and vice-chair are responsible for upholding and promoting the principles of the council’s constitution and presiding over meetings, so that council business is carried out efficiently and with regard to the rights of the elected members and the interests of the community.

Commenting on her new role, Coun Atherton said: “I am thrilled to be appointed as chair, it is a great honour and I am looking forward to the year ahead.”

At the meeting, new mayor Kate Allsop also announced two portfolio holders to her newly formed cabinet.

Coun Mick Barton is Deputy Mayor and retains his portfolio for public protection and Coun Roger Sutcliffe has been re-appointed to the cabinet as portfolio holder for resources.

Mayor Allsop said: “I am pleased to announce two portfolio holders to my Cabinet.

“I am in consultation with all the newly elected members and further announcements will be made next Tuesday.”