By-election at Sutton Junction and Harlow Wood scheduled for Wednesday

A by-election to decide the new councillor for Sutton Junction & Harlow Wood on Ashfield District Council is set to take place on Wednesday (December 12).

By The Newsroom
Monday, 10th December 2018, 3:06 pm
Updated Monday, 10th December 2018, 4:10 pm
The by election will decide the new councillor for Harlow Wood and Sutton Junction.
The by election will decide the new councillor for Harlow Wood and Sutton Junction.

The seat was previously held by Steve Carroll, formerly a Labour councillor before leaving the party in early 2018 as part of a movement which caused Labour to lose overall control of Ashfield District Council.

Mr Carroll was in his position officially until November 2, 2018, causing the triggering of a by-election for his vacant seat - which it is believed would not have occurred had he made this decision two days later.

Standing to replace him for Labour in Wednesday's election is Mr Kevin Ball, of Morley Street, Stanton Hill, Sutton.

Standing for the Ashfield Independents, which currently has control of Ashfield District Council, is Mr Matthew Relf, of Searby Road, Sutton.

For the Conservatives, Ms Christine Self, of Pennine Close, Huthwaite, Sutton, is standing to take the vacant seat.

Standing for the Democrats and Veterans Party is Mr Stephen Crosby, of Linby Road, Hucknall.

Representing the Liberal Democrats is Mr Martin Howes, of Roman Crescent, Hucknall.

For the UK Independence Party (UKIP), Ms Moira Sansom of Carburton Way, Kirkby, is hoping to take the vacant seat.

Polling stations are located at The Junction Public House, on Newark Road, Sutton, and at Portland College's The Linden Room, on Nottingham Road, Harlow Wood.

The vote will be open between 7am and 10pm and anybody who lives in this ward is eligible to cast a vote.

Information for this vote should have been posted to residents.