BOLSOVER: Council seeks sports stars for top awards

NEWS: News.
NEWS: News.

Bolsover District Council is on the lookout for the stars and unsung heroes of the sporting world from the past year.

Nominations for the council’s 2013 Bolsover District Sports Awards are now open where the aim is to recognise and reward the top local sportsmen, women, volunteers and clubs from across Bolsover District.

This could be anyone from a top athlete, coach, club or team or an administrator or volunteer who deserves to be recognised for their achievements and commitments during the past year (September 2012-up to August 2013).

Bolsover District Council Cabinet Member for Social Inclusion, Councillor Ann Syrett said: “This is the eighth year we have staged these awards and it never ceases to amaze me at what talented and committed individuals we have across our District.”

The awards are split into 10 categories, including Sportsperson of the Year, Club of the Year, Disabled Sportsperson of the Year, Community Coach of the Year and Young Sports Leader with each category up for grabs.

Each category has qualifying criteria and must be based upon performances from September 2012 to August 2013. Nominations can be received from any individual, club or team involved in schools or sports organisations within

Bolsover District and the nominee must be involved in a sport recognised by Sport England.

Cllr Syrett added: “These awards are our way of saying well done and congratulations. You don’t have to be a world beater or have won every medal in your sport – as it is also about the enjoyment and contribution people make to sport in general that we want to acknowledge. So, if you know someone who you think deserves to be recognised, then get in touch with us and nominate them for an award.”

The awards ceremony will take place on Friday, September 27, winners of the Bolsover District Awards will be submitted for the Derbyshire Sports Awards, which then feed into the BBC East Midlands and BBC National Sports Awards.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, August 16, to complete on-line at or telephoning (01246) 242364.