Award ceremony for hospital’s star staff

.John Deeming  Section leader front  of the Daffodil volunteers at KMH  pictured with a team award for the Daffodil volunteers at their cafe
.John Deeming Section leader front of the Daffodil volunteers at KMH pictured with a team award for the Daffodil volunteers at their cafe

DEDICATED staff and volunteers at from hospitals in Mansfield and Ashfield have been recognised for their work at this year’s Staff Excellence Awards.

More than 100 teams from across Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, which includes King’s Mill, Mansfield and Ashfield Community Hospitals as well as Newark, were nominated for the prestigious awards. The ceremony took place at Mansfield’s Civic Centre on 27th September.

Chairman of the Trust Tracy Doucét said: “We have many inspirational and dedicated people working across our hospitals. Not only do they strive to improve the care and support we give to our patients, they are also a great example to other staff.

“The staff awards are an excellent way of acknowledging their hard work and saying how proud we are of them.”

There were 10 categories, including the People’s Award, voted for by the public to recognise a special individual or team who provide exceptional care.

This year’s winners from the Mansfield and Ashfield area included volunteers from the Daffodil Café at King’s Mill who scooped the Working together, Team of the Year award.

The volunteers were praised for the fact that they take everything in their stride no matter how busy they are. They were also recognised for being valued by both staff and patients and for keeping up a high level of service.

Several other King’s Mill staff members were recognised including Sarah Banks who is head of nursing in healthcare of the older person.

She picked up the Appreciating You, Unsung Hero award and was described as working ‘tirelessly’ to improve the lives of elderly patients, as well as helping the team to deliver care.

Imaging assistant Sharon Bennett was handed the Star of the Year Award because of the high standard of care she gives to ultrasound patients.

Sean Tilbrook, who is chief physiologist in the cardiorespiratory department and was given the Kindness and Compassion Customer Service Award, was recognised for putting patients at ease, offering full explanations and encouraging patients to ask questions, while intensive care staff nurse Kerry Benger was given the Supporting you to do the best in your Job, Chris Macfarlane Award for being an ‘inspiring and outstanding’ example.

In addition, the Warfarin Audit team picked up the Clinical Excellence Award, the Falls and Safety Group received the Patient Safety Award while the Listening and Communicating Effectively, Patient Experience Award went to Direct Access Tinnitus Service and the Welcome Treatment Centre volunteers received the Community Involvement Award.