Ashfield residents have more time to have their say on council ward changes

NMAC10-2465-2''Kirkby Ashfield District Council Offices
NMAC10-2465-2''Kirkby Ashfield District Council Offices

Residents of Sutton, Kirkby and Hucknall have until August 26 to put their views forward on Boundary Commission plans to change the local ward structure and increase the number of councillors by two.

Ashfield District Council voted to fully support the further consultation at a full council meeting last Thursday.

In April, The Local Government Boundary Commission consulted on plans to create new council wards, change ward boundaries and change ward names in Ashfield in order to improve electoral equality in the district so that all votes are worth roughly the same.

The council’s formal response to the Commission’s draft proposals recommended the division into 25 wards - 14 single-member wards, eight two-member wards and one three-member ward.

The council proposed one more councillor for Sutton and one more for Hucknall.

Coun Jason Zadrozny described the new structure as a step forward.

He said: “I think the overall process is positive and will make more sense than the wards we have now.

“I have written to the Commission again regarding minor changes.

“What I object to is it costing more money - I think every councillor should have a small wage cut to pay for the extra councillors.”

The commission is welcoming the views of local people on the alternative warding pattern in parts of Kirkby Sutton and Hucknall.

In Kirkby, the amendments to the draft recommendations would result in single member Abbey Hill, Kingsway, Kirkby Cross and Portland and Larwood wards. They would also mean two-member Annesley and Kirkby Woodhouse and Summit wards.

In Sutton, there was general support for the Stanton and Teversal and Sutton Junction and Harlow Wood wards and confirmed these as final.

The Commission proposed the alternative Skegby ward be adopted without amendment.

The Commission is moving away from the draft recommendations for a three-member Huthwaite and St Mary’s ward and adopting a revised two member Huthwaite and Brierley Ward and a single member St Mary’s ward.

There are proposals to the proposed Central and New Cross ward transferring Coern Street into the ward from Leamington ward.

Residents in Carsic Ashfields and The Dales are also invited to comment on the proposals which can be found in detail at

The Commission will announce its final recommendations in November and they will be implemented for the elections on 15th May 2015.